EOCA Celebrates a Record Number of New Members, Supporting Conservation Together

The European Outdoor Conservation Association (EOCA) has been delighted to welcome 23 new companies into membership already during 2019 – more than in any other single year in the history of the association. This brings the total number of members to 150 and will make a significant difference to the number of hands-on conservation projects the association can support.

Since January 2019, the following companies have all signed up to join the existing loyal members of EOCA, and so to support the funding of conservation of the great outdoors: Sunday Afternoons, Premsons, Brettschneider Fernreisebadarf, Tarrago Brands, MIZU Europe, World of Camping, Regatta Great Outdoors, distributor/agent Elements, Kahtoola, icebreaker, E9, ICEBUG, ECCO, Skinourishment, Leadership & Sustainability, Mund Socks, Gumbies and OutDoor by ISPO.

German outdoor retailer Unterwegs, Italian Studio Moda Sport which is a representative and distribution agency for prestigious brands in the outdoor sector, Trangoworld a Spanish outdoor clothing, accessories and equipment producer, and Ahorn Communication, an agency for copywriting and brand strategy focusing on brands with an ethical purpose or approach have all joined EOCA since the beginning of July. Afydad, the Spanish Sport Association, also joined EOCA during 2019 as a trade partner.

The more members the association has paid a membership fee, getting involved in fundraising actions and supporting projects, the more conservation the association can support each year. This year, the association is set to commit over €500,000 into projects, a significant increase from the last few years.

Catherine Savidge, Joint General Manager of EOCA said “we have been thrilled to see our membership grow so significantly this year and so, as a result, be able to support more hands-on conservation around the world. Feedback suggests that companies are appreciating and supportive of our two year focus tackling the issue of plastic pollution – both by aiming to clear 3000km of habitat of plastic pollution, and reducing everyday single-use plastic used by the industry, and the fact that this focus is running alongside the association continuing to support a broad range of vital conservation issues around the world.”

On joining EOCA, Ance Bentjen from Unterwegs said “Nature is a valuable asset, which is not only the basis for the existence of our company but also the basis for human existence. We, therefore, have a great interest in protecting nature and making a lasting contribution to its preservation. The EOCA bundles many forces and the contributions of the members flow 100 % into the environmental protection projects, thus we think that great things can be achieved by joining forces.”

For a full list of all EOCA members, please visit outdoorconservation.eu/members-info.cfm?pageid=22

About EOCA

The European Outdoor Conservation Association is an initiative from the European outdoor industry with the objective of protecting the wild areas it cares so passionately about.

Designed to harness the incredible power of the outdoor industry and to raise money to donate to grassroots conservation groups, the European Outdoor Conservation Association is funded by membership and other fundraising activities within the outdoor industry. 100% of membership fees go to the support of projects. Membership is open to anyone that can demonstrate an involvement in the European outdoor industry.

From January 2015, a select group of ‘Sustaining Members’ have pledged their support to EOCA by committing to fund the sustainable growth of the organisation with an extra €10,000 per year over and above their annual membership fee. This money will be used to finance the running of the Association and support its sustainable growth, also enabling a move to 2 funding rounds per year.

The current EOCA Sustaining Members are Pertex, KEEN Footwear, The North Face, Nikwax, ISPO and OutDoor by ISPO (Messe München), and the European Outdoor Group (EOG), which is also the Founder Member of the Association.